Stay Connected:
The cart is empty.
Cart contains {{shoppingcart.totalQuantity}} Item(s) Total: {{shoppingcart.subtotal}} {{shoppingcart.total}}

 Shop by Category

   Shop by Brand

Free Email List
Newsletter Sign Up:
 

Pay by Card or PayPal

Trade Up Program

 

Customer Testimonials

We have received many great responses from customers over the years. A few years ago, we thought why not post some of them as they come in? Please glance over some of the testimonials listed below and if you would like, we encourage you to leave one of your own. Your feedback is very important to us. After all, you are the ones that make it all possible!

 

Thank you, Gorge Fly Shop Team!

 


April 2017


Hello Gorge Fly Shop,

I just moved to Hood River in January and have been visiting your shop frequently for trout and steel head gear and pointers. I want to thank you for the Redington Crosswater 5wt that I purchased from you when my other trout rod broke. I caught the biggest trout of my life on it yesterday at Kingsley Reservoir. 9lb. 8oz. 28". I was fishing Powerbait and noticed some smaller fish chasing my sinker as I retrieved line so I thought I'd try some streamers on my fly rod. After about ten casts I noticed a decent shadow in the water near me. I put the fly right in front of her, let it sink and she hit it right as I started my retrieve. Definitely the pinnacle of my trout fishing career. Special thanks to Cody for recommending sculpin streamers. Thanks a million, Jory


Hi Lyndsey, Rayan and John, I would like to thank you for all your effort, help and advise. I just got a note fro USPS regarding 2-days shippment, all clear now. Thank you very much again and take care too. Best, Ryszard
Thank you so much Patty. I really appreciate the great customer service. Check out Yelp for my updated review. Gregg
I received the Airflo running line in the mail and picked up the rod at Burkheimer's. They gave me the Nickel tour. The rod is beautiful and I can't wait for my first steelhead on it. Thanks for the advice and arrangements to let me pick up the rod. I enjoy your facility and the expertise you provide. Sincerely, Ron O.
March 2017
John & Ryan, Thank you both for your time, effort and knowledge. These two beauties were caught on the Deschutes just south of Maupin on a green Copper John. Hopefully I can send you some steelhead pictures soon. Jory

Simms wet wading socks Purchase

I bought all my gorge gear for an up coming Christmas Island trip and I was very impressed by how quick the order was processed and sent to me in two days! The Simms wet wading socks will help protect my feet in all day wet conditions- looking forward to visiting your shop later this month - Dave P.


February 2017


Hey Ryan, Awesome, thanks for the advice - this is why I tend to buy all my high-end gear from you guys, even if you are on the other side of the planet! I spoke to a store in NZ, and they were the ones who tried to sell me the Lamson. And while they are good reels - I have had a few issues just in the freshwater with them. So I wasn't completely convinced as to how they would hold up in the salt. The Sage on the other hand I understand are pretty much bombproof. - Damon


Thank-you.  I appreciate how good you are to deal with.  I have bought several items from you in the past and will continue to do so.  John


December 2016


Galvan Fly Reel: The reel is everything that was advertised. The shop owner took my order. He was not only helpful, answering my many questions but friendly and knowledgeable as well. This is a first rate fly shop with a large assortment of gear and one of the most knowledgeable staff you could find. I have visited their shop in Hood River, Oregon several times and it is always fun to go there. Highly recommended! - Dennis A.

The Gorge team Thanks again for all your efforts to get my jacket down to Australia before I headed down to South Island Zealand The jacket worked a treat folding up neatly in my fly vest when it was not being used , which was most of the time . One thing down there ,is that the weather is predictably unpredictable ! We experienced challenging conditions and searched for clear water . We found a nice meadow creek with a short catchment where is managed that six pounder ( not the best photo). - Regards Bob R.


November 2016


Sage One: Living in South Australia with limited fly shop access we often have to source our equipment from overseas. I have always found the Gorge Fly Shop professional in their dealings, prompt with the shipping who provide excellent service. I have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone seeking to purchase from them either locally or internationally. Regards Laurie


September 2016


I have never written a comment regarding a vendor before, however this shop really earned my endorsement. Their expertise, friendly staff and excellent customer service will keep me coming back. Very well done and if I am ever in the area I will definitely stop by to meet them in person. - George H.


August 2016


HI, Just wanted to pass along a big Thank You for selling me the frame I needed for my Lamson Litespeed IV (#2). I know Lamson makes it hard on dealers to replace that part and I really appreciate the fact that you guys (in this case girl) made it happen. Travis you have a wonderful wife who knows what customer service is. Having been in the customer service with my own business in the past I really appreciate the transaction. You can be sure that I will recommend your shop highly and will make every effort to do business with you guys in the future.

Thanks again. Mike S. - Santa Fe, NM


Travis, I've now bought products from Lindsey, John and Ryan.You have a great crew- they all are knowledgeable and very concerned about getting my purchases to me in a very short time even when not in stock. Keep up the good work. Ed K. - Sandy, Utah


March 2016


Hi Patty The shoes arrived yesterday. Terrey is very happy with them. Thank you for your excellent and friendly service. I’ve posted a review on your web page. - Kind regards Sharon


February 2016


I purchased 2 Lamson Guru reels, line and backing all at amazing prices!! This was the absolute fastest service and easiest website to navigate I've ever been on!! Plus, they shipped my order the same day I ordered it. Crazy right!?! I made a mistake in ordering my backing and the awesome staff contacted me right away and fixed my problem (totally my fault not theirs). These guys were very professional and courteous. You have my future orders as well as all my buddies I've told about you. Keep it up guys.... - Jonathan H.


Just a line to say thanks for the excellent service. Ordered a lamson guru on closeout and it arrived in new York yesterday. That was fast! Thanks. - Terence M.


November 2015


Excellent Service I can't say enough about the people and service at Gorge! They are friendly and you are kept informed of the status of your order throughout the process. They'll get more of my business! - Scott B.


October 2015


OUTSTANDING SERVICE After an internet search, I found Gorge Fly Shop where I proceeded to purchase a Nautilus NV Monster Fly Reel. The ordering process was seamless and EASY. The online ordering system worked perfectly and within a few days, my reel arrived! I would highly recommend Gorge's to anyone interested in purchasing fishing gear! - Katherine O.


September 2015


Patty,

You and your team do a great job!  Thanks for the quick turnaround and follow up email.  I’ve done business with Gorge Fly Shop numerous times now on high end reels and will keep working with you because you really care about the customer!

Thank you and until next time, take care.

Marv


January 2015


Good description of product on line. The shop has a great selection of quality fly fishing products. They often have specials with great prices. I've purchased a few items on line and have been very pleased with the timely shipping and product. I've also been to the shop and was pleased with selection of quality gear and quality service. Keep doing what you do! Great experience! - Taken from customer product comment


August 2014


I ordered a reel from the shop back in March. For a variety of reasons the reel was backordered, then subsequent promise dates were missed through no fault of the shop. I could have cancelled the order and acquired the product through different means along the way, but didn't because it was so obvious Travis, Lyndsey and the team were doing everything they could to acquire the product. That kind of effort needs to be rewarded and I would certainly recommend giving them a try. By the way, the reel is way cool, too! - Dan Ellis


July 2014

My experiance with gorge fly shop is AAA++++ i bought two galvin reels from them they ship fast always kept me in the loop with my ordering keep up the awsome work guys you have a customer for life hope every body follows me.


Curtis C.

June 2014


I placed an order for a Scotty Fly Rod Holder with Gorge Fly Shop and received excellent service. Their site was easy to use, the price was very competitive and I received my product in record time. When the time comes for me to purchase additional equipment, I will go to their web page first, knowing that I will be treated in a professional manner and not over pay.

George A.


Thanks! Honestly, the reason I ended up placing this order is because three weeks ago I placed a special order with Minturn Anglers here in Vail and never heard a word for two weeks. I went in Monday to inquire about the status and was told by the gentleman that originally helped me that he had no idea where the order was, but that he would follow up and call me with the status. Tick, Tick, Tick.....three days went by with no word or call and so.....I googled Korkers Wading Shoes and got to your website this morning. I've heard more from you in three hours than I have from them in three weeks.It makes a difference and you are doing a great job!

 

Thank you for your great service. Warm regards,
David L. P


May 2014


I wanted to send a shout out to the whole team at The Gorge Fly Shop. A year ago I ordered a couple custom Nautilus Reels and recently rush ordered a few items for a trip to Baja. Every communication with your shop has been first rate, enjoyable, and promises were followed through on diligently. You all are doing it right, keep it up! Here is a trophy rooster I caught, feel free to use the pic.

Thanks,

Daniel


April 2014


Hey guys,

I'm the guy that came in with his wife and baby a couple of weeks ago. I bought a Hardy 4" Perfect from you. Anyways, just wanted to say the reel is awesome and since I've had it, I've caught multiple fish every trip. You must have sprinkled some magic on it. Sorry for the crappy photo but it's the only one I have. Thanks again. Ryan P.


March 2014


Hi Lyndsey,

As you probably know we’re back from Christmas Island, what an adventure that was. Especially for Jeanette, it was eleven guys and one woman. With that said it was a great group and we enjoyed the entire trip.
The attached pictures are Jeanette with a couple of really nice bone fish, one with me trying to hold the fish far enough away to make it look bigger and the rod holder in the boat going out to the flats. The rod second from the right is the Sage Method and Lamson reel, Jeanette used that combo the entire trip and loved it.

We’re going to be coming down in the next week or so and we’ll get a chance to meet in person. The rod carrier that I got just before the trip couldn’t have worked out better. It is a place to test gear to the max.

Tell Travis I’ll call him later this morning,

Best regards,

Art


This place ROCKS !! I got a great deal on a Outcast float tube and backpack straps. They give great customer service and shipping is very fast. They also offer free shipping on over $50 purchase what else could you ask for . Highly recommend this Place to everyone!! Thanks Gorges Fly Shop


August 2013


Maddie: Thank you for your update and the effort you are going thru on my behalf. I just returned from breakfast with our geezer fly fishing group of seven, and I had commented on the service and satisfaction I have been experiencing with your shop. They were impressed and appreciated my recommendation. I hope that they contact your shop to meet their needs as we start rolling into the fall season. Again, thank you for your help. Cliff


July 2013


Abel Nippers and Great Customer Service

Combine two great products; Abel Nippers and Gorge Fly Shop customer service and you get a customer for life. I bought a pair of pink Abel Nippers for my wife's birthday that had to be special ordered because most of us don't tend to buy them in that color. So I got the nicest emails explaining everything to me and the Nippers in the mail only a couple of days longer than if they had been in stock.

Jerry


Maddie, The reel and extra spool arrived today! I'm very pleased with the quality especially considering the price. Thanks for helping me obtain the extra spool. The level of customer service you offered isn't something I experiance very often and it was a pleasure working with you.


Thanks, Dave


April 2013


Hi, my name is allan, I live in SCOTLAND, I came across "Gorge Fly Shop" by accident, I don"t do fly fishing, i do Course fishing, ie, float, & feeder fishing, I was searching for a centrepin reel, when i came across the company on ebay, So i made contact, asked a few questions, and met Lyndsey, I have bought tackle from all over the U,K, but this company,s customer service is second to none, Lyndsey was top class, helping me out with my purchase, shipping costs, etc, shopping was a delight. Travis, Lyndsey, and the team, have been going for 21yrs now, I,m not surprised, if they continue to give the same level of customer service, then they will continue for many years to come. Lyndsey has become a far away friend, always willing to answer any questions. I have now placed 3 orders, "I wish the shop was in Scotland," I am very happy to highly recommend Travis, Lyndsey, and the team at the Gorge Fly Shop,


P,S, the Raven Matrix centrepin reel, is top class, many thanks,


March 2013


To,

Travis and all Staff Members.

I have just received my order in the mail, all intact. I now have to
find some time away from guiding to go fishing, and put the Rio Scandi
versitip into action. This will be in a few weeks when I head into New
South Wales and North East Victoria's high country to fish two of our
larger tail race rivers.

 

All going well I can send a positive report on my new lines performance.


I would now like to thank Mike Duffy for his advice regarding line
weight that should best suit my Sage switch rod, and all staff for
dispatching my order quickly.

Thanking You. David. Allure Trout Flies & Frames.


Hi Lyndsey,

Thank you for your prompt reply.

I must have deleted the message I composed when I placed my order, no problems!

Thanks once again for a wonderful service, you really put other online shops to shame.

Best regards,
John


February 2013


Simms Vertical Mesh Vest

Apart from the awesome service from GFS, the Simms Vertical Mesh Vest was great! Very good pocket layout, great mesh (for hot summer days!), superb cushioned collar that really helps when the vest is loaded up with all the 'essentials' and great colour to blend in with the bush! Top bit of kit, I would highly recommend it!

Luke from Australia


January 2013


Congratulations to Travis, Lyndsey and their team at the Gorge Fly Shop,you guys are terrific, service and customer satisfaction are first class, keep up the good work, as an international customer from Tasmania you guys make it all so easy thanks again
Fred B.


December 2012


Just got the order I placed yesterday. Thanks for the great service. Love my new gear!

John A. (facebook friend)


Thought I would say "Thanks Again" for your great customer service. I've attached a photo from my September trip to the Deschutes to try a few new fly patterns you offered...

Scott W. (facebook friend - check out the photo on facebook)


July 2012


 

Fishpond Gore Range Teck Pack

A very nice vest. The service is very well and nice. I like to order more when I need something more Thank You all! Kind regards Robbert


Amazing Service

I ordered this rod on Sunday and it was on my door step on Wednesday with standard shipping. This rod is the best I have ever cast, can't wait tell I am as good as the rod.

Thomas Hart


June 2012


 

Hi Travis

Just a quick one I just made another order with you

Im greatfull for all the great service you and your staff give me every time I get gear from you

Im not sure how many items I have got of you ( lost count ) But keep up the great work

Thanks once again

Anthony M. ( Australia )


May 2012


 

"Excellent service: I live in Tasmania, Australia and this is the second product I have bought from Gorge Fly Shop Online Store. The service has been excellent in both cases and the products have been as described and arrive in good order. I have yet to use this Rio line but expect it will live up to the product's reputation. David Houghton"

 


April 2012


 

"I purchased a G.Loomis fly rod & 2 Lamson fly reels from the Gorge Fly Shop via the internet. I would like to thank you for the sound advise and the efficient way my order was handled. The free flylines I received with the order were placed on the reels and spare spools for me, what superb service. I am really happy with the rod & reels and to top it off it arrived 5 days from dispatch to the Middle East excellent service guy's well done.

Best regards
John C"


March 2012


Simms Guide Fleece Top

"Great top, excellent customer service: Excellent quality product, fits true to size. Customer service provided was stellar! Quick personal service. Will definitely use again." - Carrie C.


"Hi Lyndsey, My order arrived this afternoon! Thank for you the great experience, you made it so easy and I know my husband will love his birthday present! I was going to order them off Amazon but I remembered Gorge Fly Shop as my husband occasionally stops in as we pass through town. I love supporting local businesses and we love Hood River! We will actually be staying overnight in a few months and I’m sure we will be stopping by the store during our visit.

Thank you again,
Melissa"


February 2012


"The Hardy Ulralite 4000 CC reel that I ordered from you and that you had dropped shipped from Hardy USA arrived today and I am very satisfied. The H2O is alittle too "thick" to fish around here yet but I tried it out in the front yard between snow flakes on one of my old Scott "G" series rods and it worked very well. I landed our "lab" in short order. Seriously, thanks much for your time and effort. Russ B"


"Recently I have purchased 2 fly reels from your shop via the internet. I would like to congratulate your shop staff on the speedy and efficient way that these orders were handled- from the first email back to me stating that the order was received to the final one tellin me of the order dispatch. I was kept in the loop all the time- Great!. I also note the modest amount 0f the packaging charge (in stark contrast to many of your competitors) -I sense that there is a substantial goodwill subsidy supporting this charge. Very happy with my dealings with you and you can be sure that I will tell my flyfishing mates about your shop. Best Regards David L."


Sage Fly Reel:

"Your service at organising and delivering the reel was sensational. Arrived in perfect condition with a 1 week turn around to Australia. Cheers - Darren C."


G. Loomis NRX-G Saltwater 9' 8 Weight Fly Rod

"Beautiful rod: Love this rod. I purchased the rod for a bonefishing trip to Belize and for wiper fishing. I've have lawn cast only but I can tell that it is an absolute cannon. Great service once again from The Gorge flyshop." - Michael M.


"Congratulations Travis, Lyndsey, Maddie and Austin. You deserve every bit of success that has come your way. I love how you guys treat customers more like friends and family than like a "sale". Wishing you another 20 years of growing success. It's a testament to you and your employees that despite a difficult economy, you have flourished and made so many friends. I feel blessed to be counted amongst them. Looking forward to more good times ahead." - Charles C.

 


 

Write a Testimonial below:

Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you soon!

Your Name:

Required

Your E-mail:

Required

Subject:

Required

Required


Gorge Fly Shop, Inc - 201 Oak St., Hood River, OR 97031, US