Stay Connected: FREE SHIPPING: U.S. ORDERS $50+
The cart is empty.
Cart contains {{shoppingcart.totalQuantity}} Item(s) Total: {{shoppingcart.subtotal}} {{shoppingcart.total}}

 Shop by Category

   Shop by Brand

Pay by Card or PayPal

INTERNATIONAL SHIPPING
Please Read

Trade Up Program

JOIN OUR NEWSLETTER
FREE Sign Up:
 

 

Product Reviews

For the product: OPST Skagit Commando Heads
Average Ratings: Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star

Rate this Product:

Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star


Rate this product:

"commando heads,tips and running line"

Anthony Palombaro on 11/22/2019 12:12:57 PM

Review: I bought commando heads, running line, sink and floating tips. They are fun to use, came to me quickly and were packaged nicely. Great stuff and they opened up a new way to cast and catch fish! Thank you

Rate this Product:

Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star

"Excellent Skagit head"

Michael Blezien on 6/28/2018 9:57:29 AM

Review: put this on a single hand 9' 5wt along with the lazar line and wow what a major improvement in my close quarter roll casts I recommend this to anyone that wade fishes with no back cast room. After an little practice with some simple spey cast these commando heads really make a difference.

Rate this Product:

Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star

"20 incher"

Michael Costa on 2/19/2018 9:58:40 AM

Review: I purchased a 225 grain Commando Head for my Winston Nexus 9'6 6 weight along with 35lb. Lazer Line and I really like this combination. The first day out I landed a 20 fish on the Lower Sacramento River. The OPST system casts beautifully and I felt that I was connected to my fly and the fish very well. I would highly recommend these products.

Rate this Product:

Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star

"Bavido"

John on 10/30/2017 3:15:39 PM

Review: Gorge fly shop has the best products such as opst commando heads. All of their products are excellent. So don't mess with stupid Web sites but stick with and trust a dependable one such as gorge fly shop....excellent service, advice and quick order delivery.

Rate this Product:

Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star

"A New Favorite"

JOHN DUNN on 5/17/2017 10:50:10 AM

Review: The new 200gr, 13', Spey/Skagit Commando Head is incredible. Designed as a bridge for single hand application in the spey world this head is nothing short of just plain fun. On my 9' 5wt rod Skagit casting from my pontoon boat is now a breeze. The benefits of this short head are limitless but bringing the fun of Skagit casts to the single hand fly world is brilliant.

Rate this Product:

Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star

"OPST Commando"

Jim Gaines on 1/17/2016 9:24:09 AM

Review: Very easy to perform spey style(snap-T, double spey)casts on a single hander with this line. I chose 300 gr for my 10 foot 7 weight.

Rate this Product:

Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star

"OPST Commando Heads"

George on 11/25/2015 10:09:38 AM

Review: These shorter heads used on single hand rods gives me more of a reason not to use my switch rods. It's so much lighter and more pleasurable to cast and fish with all day. I can fish it any way I like in almost all situations that I encounter. I'm not an advanced caster but distance wise, I was comfortably spey casting 60-70ft with my 9ft 6wt on the 250g, and 80-90ft with my 10ft 8wt on the 300g. In my opinion, it's more than enough distance to find fish in larger river systems here in the Midwest. The only downside like with all shooting heads, you have to strip in to recast. Not a deal breaker, especially if you fish larger rivers with no back cast room. The advantage is that you can reach distances you normally can't with a regular WFF line. Also, like with all skagit heads, you will need tips. The 10ft light MOW tips or polyleaders work well, at least on my setups. In addition, you'll also need a shooting line. If you don't use a shooting line and just use it with a regular fly line (say a 4wt WFF line), you won't be able to cast as far as you would with a shooting line. You can expect about a 30-40% loss of distance. The only upside to using it with a regular fly line is that you can mend easier and that it's easier to handle. Great for close quarter fishing or indicator fishing. In any case, I highly recommend these shorter shooting heads.

Rate this Product:

Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star

"OPST Heads - awesome!"

Andrew Perrault on 10/24/2015 1:10:51 PM

Review: This line is tons of fun to cast. A good cast will rip the rod out of your hands. It will not fix casting problems. It is a different stroke than a normal spey cast. Almost a sidearm single spey, but tons of fun from single hand rods to short spey rods. I don't really like them on rods over about 12'9"

Rate this Product:

Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star


Rate this product:

Gorge Fly Shop, Inc - 3200 Lower Mill Dr., Hood River, OR 97031, US